First Full Day

Hello, everyone! I’m glad you have managed to stumble upon this newborn blog. I hope to update frequently!

My first full day on the island has been lovely. In the clinic this morning, I received a tour and got to chat about my project. Looks like I will get to apply my interest and experience in family planning methods! Probably in the form of an addition to the current prenatal class curriculum. After some chatting and tasting of my first island delicacy, the banana donut, I got down to work with the volunteers in the pharmacy. We filled orders coming from the providers, counted lots of pills, and began taking inventory of the entire pharmacy’s contents. The work was enjoyable, and the company was super fun! I’m having a great time getting to know all of the other volunteers. 

After a pretty long work day (7:30-4:30) we got some food at a local tienda and then went snorkeling! It was awesome. The water clarify was poor until we swam out about 100 yards. Then the reef appeared! My favorite sitings included a bunch of granddaddy lobster with shells so encrusted with plants and barnacles that you could barely see their bright red coloring. Also, I saw these little toby-like fishies that had pale tummies and brilliantly neon patterns around their “waists” and eyes! So cute. 

In two minutes, the volunteers and I are heading up to West Bay for some dinner and karaoke, so I had better run. Pardon any typos!

Best, 

Hanna

3 thoughts on “First Full Day

  1. Hi Han,
    I’m so glad you started this blog and that you’re having such a fabulous time already! Can’t wait to read the your next entry.
    Love, Auntie

  2. Hey Han Ban!
    That sounds amazing! Hope karaoke was fun 🙂 can’t wait to skype and hear more about everything!
    Love you, Arz

  3. Hi Hanna!
    We should all be so lucky to have that commute!! And I’m soooo proud of you for doing your first two shots, without complaints! By now you’ve probably done a lot more.
    Will write again soon. I love you!

Leave a Reply

